ACS Award for Computers in
Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research

Since 1984, The ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research has annually recognized outstanding individual achievement for the use of computers in education, product development, or research in the chemical and biological sciences. The award was established by Digital Equipment Corporation, and sponsored by them from 1984 through 1995. Following this period, IBM North America, Scientific and Technical Systems and Solutions, sponsored the award for the years 1996 through 1998. From 2001 through 2006, the award was sponsored by Accelrys. Since 2007, Schrödinger has sponsored the award.

This award, given annually, recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of the use of computers in the chemical and biological sciences, and consists of a cash prize and a certificate. The monetary award is $5,000, plus a $1,000 travel allowance to attend the meeting at which the award will be presented. Awardees are selected without discrimination regarding nationality, age, gender, disability, race, religion or sexual orientation. Nomination forms are available at the ACS Website.

Previous awardees include:

Mark Gordon Award for 2009

James Andrew McCammon
University of California, San Diego
Award for 2008

Emily Carter
Princeton University
Award for 2007

Johann Gasteiger
University of Erlangen-Nurnberg
Award for 2006

Peter Willett
University of Sheffield, England
Award for 2005

W. Graham Richards
University of Oxford
Award for 2004

Kendall N. Houk
University of California, Los Angles
Award for 2003

Irwin D. Kuntz
University of California, San Francisco
Award for 2002

Martin Karplus
Harvard University
Award for 2001

Donald G. Truhlar
University of Minnesota
Award for 2000

Corwin H. Hansch
Pomona College
Award for 1999

William L. Jorgensen
Yale University
Award for 1998

Harold A. Scheraga
Cornell University
Award for 1997

Norman L. Allinger
University of Georgia
Award for 1996

Peter A. Kollman
University of California, San Francisco
Award for 1995

Michael J.S. Dewar
University of Florida
Award for 1994

W. Clark Still
Columbia University
Award for 1993

Ernest R. Davidson
University of Washington
Award for 1992

John A. Pople
Carnegie-Mellon University
Award for 1991

Peter C. Jurs
Pennsylvania State University
Award for 1990

Christie G. Enke
University of New Mexico
Award for 1989

W.A. Goddard III
California Institute of Technology
Award for 1988

W. Todd Wipke
University of California, Santa Cruz
Award for 1987

Raymond E. Dessy
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Award for 1986

The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the Division of Computers in Chemistry. The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the American Chemical Society. Please address all comments and other feedback to the the COMP Division.

This page was last modified 06:30:54, July 1, 2011